Kinky Sex Fetish: A Manhattan Murder Mystery 7

LargeCorp
LargeCorp

“We walked down the stairs, and when we made it to the lobby, it had been bombed out. Everything was burned. And the plaza was empty. We thought they put a bomb in the lobby.”

She was speaking in hushed tones.

“When I woke up the next day I didn’t even remember what happened. I was in a daze.”

She was explaining her escape from the building.

“They told us to remain at our desks, but no way. We got out of there are soon as possible.”

Patty
Patty

We were in the temporary offices now, a few days later. Everyone was scrambling to get things back online. Everyone was hunched around a conference table with their laptop. Almost no one spoke. Walking to the kitchen to get some coffee, I notice someone had hung a map of Central Asia on the wall, with Afghanistan replaced by “Lake America.” Gallows humor. There would be a lot of gallows humor.

Someone said, “Hey, there’s 300 openings at LargeCorp.” Another said, “yeah, they are looking for 300 more suckers.” That was dark. That wasn’t a joke. Someone knew something but they weren’t saying.

“Catherine didn’t make it. She was at a meeting at LargeCorp on the top floor.”

A few weeks before, I had taken the elevator up to Windows on the World, for lunch. It was the most amazing restaraunt I’d had ever been in. Luxurious, but of course the big attraction was the view. You could see for miles, all of the city and beyond. I had a drink, and was thinking about our conversation about the security vehicles, and what she had told me about ’93. That’s when I had it, a premonition. I’ve never believed in such things, but I had a thought. “Man, imagine if an airplane flew into here. It would be like a disaster movie.”

I remembered it, but didn’t say anything. No one would believe me anyway.

That night I made a fateful decision. I called crazy bitch. I asked her what happened. She said, “We were in midtown. I already had given my two weeks notice and was just about to start the new job. My apartment was downtown so I couldn’t get home anyway. We watched TV and I stayed at a friend’s that night. What happened?”

no bombs here!
No Comment
She sounded totally calm. Very much unlike Patty. I had called her first, that day. The cell phones didn’t work, so I waited in line for the one payphone on the block. It was only 5:30 in the morning, she was sound asleep, but she woke up and answered anyway. She said, “hi, why are you calling so early?” I realized she wouldn’t even know yet. So I just told her, “I’m fine, I will call you later. Just go back to sleep. Just wanted to let you know. Call me when you get up. I love you.”

“Hmm ok I love you.”

I didn’t answer when she called back. She just left a message. She sounded like she was about to cry. “Hi.” she whined. “What happened? Call me please. I hope you’re ok.”

To be continued.

Mystery

2 thoughts on “Kinky Sex Fetish: A Manhattan Murder Mystery 7

Comments are closed.