The Slut Power 3

I’m home, I grab a beer out of the fridge and sort of pace back and forth in the kitchen, thinking about this whole thing. Am I committing any felonies or misdemeanors? Probably not. Am I putting myself in any sort of civil legal jeapordy? Likely no. Am I in any physical danger? I wouldn’t think so. These guys seemed like amateurs from the beginning. Then again, amateurs might be more dangerous than professionals. I had a feeling this guy was a hot head. And he liked to talk. Surely that’s not a good thing.

yearbook.newspaper.censored

It started innocently enough. I saw an ad online: “Computer Genius Needed.” Some guy wanted a website made, and considering the ad got all the jargon wrong, it was obvious they didn’t know the first thing about these new fangled internets. These types were sometimes good for a couple of thousand or so. I’d kick some down to my friend that was an actual computer genius if I needed help. So I email the guy, he sends me a number and I call him. He runs a modeling agency, wants a website. Lots of pictures of models, and a way for the girls to apply. “Models Wanted. 18-28. Good pay, please include one picture of face and one full length picture of body.” “I am this tall. My hair color is this. I weight this. This is my phone number.” Pretty straight forward, should be easy. Easy money, never turn it down.

So after I meet the guy, it’s clear what I’m dealing with. I don’t know why the first time we met he tells me he got out of prison not long ago, but whatever. He had money, and he bought me a nice cigar and a glass of wine, so I listen to him ramble. I tell him, sure I can do the job, it will cost something up front, and something on a regular basis. He finds this reasonable. We throw around some numbers, and I can barely contain myself at finding this particular inefficiency in the market. So we shake hands, plan to meet again in a week and finalize the deal. I made some noise about signing a contract, a non-disclosure, but he didn’t seem to understand or care. He said he’d pay in cash. I’m thinking, “jackpot!”

So I put up the website and the girls start applying. It was an enlightening experience. It got to the point where I couldn’t wait to check the applications the next day. Were there really this many girls desperate to be models? Every day, I’m sorting through these applications, and looking through the pictures these girls submitted. Girls from all over the place, all over America. Plenty of diversity, plenty of women with foreign names, too. Girls as young as 18, with pictures that may as well have been their yearbook pictures, to rough looking 40 year olds dressed like prostitutes. Even though we had a disclaimer, “do not sent nude pictures” we still got plenty. The girls were supposed to write something about themselves, and it ranged from an obvious “byline” from professional, attractive models, to unintentional comedy from various silly girls.

censored_yb

The guys who were paying me had no clue about any of this, except for what I told them and showed them. This sort of online thing was still pretty new. It was fast becoming popular but there were no rules. And, it illustrated clearly the old PT Barnum saying, “there’s a sucker born every minute.” Most average, normal, everyday people – especially the young – were just like, “ok, put this in the computer and push the button. Upload a picture. Look, this modeling agency has a professional looking website and they pay really well! I’ll apply. Here’s my number.”

So, I’m sort of the middle man. These guys are creating an illusion for these girls, that they can be New York models, go to fancy parties, and be admired for their looks. And I’m creating an illusion for these guys, that this internet stuff is really hard, and really expensive, and if they want these model applications to keep coming in, they are going to have to keep paying me. I took to writing the copy myself. I just wrote out a fantasy about models, actresses, MTV extras, glitzy New York nightlife, and fancy parties.

Hell, it’s basically a dating site.

The applications just kept rolling in.

yourecards_yearbook_photos

One thought on “The Slut Power 3

Leave a Reply

